Amazon Reviews Amanda Sheridan Full List of Reviews for Rapid Eye Movement up to 18 May 2022


Rapid Eye Movement Buy Here

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B086H3HQ4M
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2564 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 317 pages

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Amanda Sheridan

Amanda Sheridan lives with her husband and their two rough collies in Northern Ireland and Scotland. She is retired and only took up writing recently.

From United Kingdom

Carolyn W.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 May 2022

Masha Novak

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 May 2022

Mr T. A. Grealy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 May 2022

Romance Reader

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 April 2022

Tracey Gerrard

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 April 2022

Joni Martins

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 April 2022

James Matthew Wood

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 April 2022

Nat S

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 March 2022

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Reader
4.0 out of 5 stars An enigmatic tale

Reviewed in India on 20 January 2022

Jessica
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent

Reviewed in Canada on 18 February 2021

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars rapid eye movement

Reviewed in Canada on 22 June 2020

Cathy Brooks
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read

Reviewed in the United States on 11 April 2022

jdgriffith78
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story!

Reviewed in the United States on 1 April 2021

ALL REVIEWS

From United Kingdom

Philomena’s Reviews

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 October 2021

Contains spoilers (at the end)

The cover of the book was what drew me in to taking a look at the blurb and then I was sucked in. The premise was exciting and right up my street, as I’m a huge fan of anything spooky or paranormal, and it also made me wonder if this situation is possible in real life.

Rapid eye movement tells the story of Jennifer and Lucy, two very different women who live miles apart, but each night they dream about the other’s life. Lucy is a photographer with two children living in the Yorkshire Dales and Jennifer is an interior designer, married to an undercover agent living in Cyprus. Sheridan is an excellent writer. However, I did find myself getting a little bored as neither character did anything about what was happening to them until about 2 thirds of the way in. This was probably the author’s intention but for me I felt as though she’d delivered a great character portrayal as in they were both very different and living completely opposite lives. But too much time was spent on learning about the other’s lives during the dreams. I wanted one of them to take control earlier on and take action on what was happening. When it came to the final showdown between them and when they finally met face to face in the dreams. Neither really fought hard as  for survival as I expected them to especially when they discovered only one would make it out of the situation alive. I do feel this scene could have happened earlier on and be expanded upon. But this is just my opinion, and that is the only reason for giving a four-star rating instead of a five. I wouldn’t hesitate to read another book by Sheridan. As her writing is very strong, her concepts are unique and there was definite suspense.

 

Elle Sie

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 December 2021

Rapid Eye Movement is a psychological thriller following the lives of Jennifer, a British expat living in Cyprus and dating handsome and exciting Ilan and Lucy, married to Charlie and living an ordinary life in the UK. After accidents in which both women suffer head injuries, their lives become connected through their dreams. I’ll admit I enjoyed the chapters of Lucy’s dreams about Jennifer as her story was much more exciting and dangerous than Jennifer’s dreams of Lucy’s life in the UK, which were much more mundane. The psychological strain on both women as they began to realise the other was actually a real person was an interesting development, including the research they did to find out what was happening to them because of their injuries. Some of the middle parts read more as a domestic drama than psychological suspense since in the story, several years had passed before either woman took action – however, this was explained later, so I felt the writer tied it all together well. One scene towards the end was a particular favourite as it had a great surreal/sci-fi feel, which reminded me of some elements in the Matrix. As much as I had tried to predict the ending, the events in the last few chapters surprised me and I felt equal sympathy for both women. Will definitely check out the sequel to see what happens next!
Emdf

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 March 2022

This review contains spoilers so proceed at your own risk.
This story was written with very tight, sharp prose. The author very cleverly changes the tone of the narrative fjr each voice-subtly insinuating the differences between the characters and their perspectives.
This story starts with a bang and ends very strongly, too – – though in the first quarter/third it did lag occasionally.
It was a very clever concept and was exceptionally well executed. I thought there was a good blend of elements, genres etc, so that there was a little bit of something for everyone in it.
I will say that I wasn’t a massive fan of the ending. I suppose that was the point – both women are in a no-win situation here and the author has us evaluate our own values and what gives a life worth – whether selfishness is permissable in life and death situations and where morality ends. But personally, I feel strongly that the wrong woman returned. It upset me a lot. Having said that, that is the sign of a good book, isn’t it? To draw you in and give you a strong emotionally response.
You will need the tissues, but I still recommend this book.
Tracey Gerrard

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 April 2022

Raid Eye Movement is one of those books that keeps you engrossed throughout and stays with you long after you have finished reading.
Lucy is a photographer, married to Charlie a builder; they have two daughters and live in the Yorkshire Dales. Jennifer is an interior designer, married to Ilan a secret agent and live in Cyprus.
This book tells the story of Lucy and Jennifer who are in an accident on the same day. Jennifer in a high-speed car chase, which leaves her in a coma after a head on collision. Lucy who collapses and ends up in a coma after she falls and hits her head out on the dales. The story then takes you on an amazing journey where both women dream of each other’s life when they fall asleep. They feel a strange connection even though they have never met and can retell the following morning every detail of the other woman’s life of which they have dreamt about.
Amanda Sheridan has done a superb job at creating a unique plot that you can immerse yourself in and not come up until the very end. The characters are lovable, the dialogue real and the intimate scenes between each couple are tastefully done.
I felt so many emotions whilst reading this story, I’ve never read anything like it and I’m looking forward to reading the next book.
A psychological fiction with lots of passion. Highly recommended!
Katherine Black

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 December 2021

I first saw this book recommended on a Facebook writing group. There were several positive comments and reviews from members who had read it, and it piqued my interest.
Two women dreaming each other’s lives sounded right up my alley. Come to the word Psychological and add a thriller to it, and my eager fingers were reaching for my Amazon account to buy it.
It doesn’t disappoint.
Two women suffer life-threatening accidents, one in The Yorkshire Dales, England, the other in beautiful (warm) Cyprus. They experience each other’s events when they close their eyes and dream. Through some shared-experience interconnection—or so it seems—their lives are linked.Fantastic.Then the question is asked: What happens to the other if one of them stops dreaming?

Got you yet? It was enough to trap me. Add some beautiful descriptive passages of two very different lives and locations. The book carries you from one page to the next. We have romance, conflict, and brilliant storytelling. Of course, it gets sinister. The clue’s in the genre.

Who is this other woman? And what’s going on?

If the book leaves you wanting more from this great author. This isn’t her only title. We meet up with the characters we’ve come to care about again in The Dreaming.

I’m looking forward to seeing what’s to come from Ms Sheridan in the future.

 

Jacqui Jay Grafton

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 August 2020

Jennifer and her husband, Ilan, are fleeing for their lives through the night in Cyprus. A high speed car crash leaves her critically injured with a head wound.
Lucy steps in a rabbit hole on a hillside in Yorkshire, whilst out photographing landscapes and acquires a head injury that sees her lapse into a coma.
And so begins a very tightly plotted story, centred round the lives of the two women and their husbands.
The early part of the book sets up the events immediately before the accidents.
The section dealing with Jennifer has a sharpness and clarity suited to the hectic drive through dark roads. At times, the sentences are almost staccato. Yet Sheridan manages to feed in enough information to give us an idea of Jennifer’s character, particularly her coolness under stress, even though consumed with fear.
Leaving Jennifer’s story just after the point of impact (and there is a great bit of foreshadowing there for the discerning reader), attention turns to Lucy, her husband Charlie and their two daughters. The writing style changes almost imperceptibly here to a softer, more gentle tempo as we gather details of Lucy’s domestic life and her burgeoning career as a photographer.
The book now becomes a series of dream sequences where the two women’s lives unfold, so vivid that at times they almost feel as if they were a part of the other’s life. It’s not a long book and some of the chapters are quite short, but I was always aware of which woman’s story I was in. The two characters are very distinctively drawn.
Although this book is promoted as Romance combined with Mystery, it’s more than that. There is Romance, certainly. Ilan and Charlie are both charismatic figures in their own way and we’re treated to a few intimate moments, which are sensitively done. The mystery element is very strong; some parts reminded me of a cosy mystery, especially the excellent descriptive passages but, by the time I passed the halfway mark, I felt the plot was heading into thriller territory at times.
When Sheridan begins to tighten the strands of this book, she does it so subtly that the “OMG! I get it!” moment really is a revelation. Suffice to say, this is no ordinary tale and I guarantee you won’t see the end coming until the author chooses to reveal it. One of the very few books that will go on to my To Be Read Again list.
2 people found this helpful
Kindle reader

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 December 2021

Wow this book has everything! This interesting strong follows Jennifer and Lucy- to very different women, living very different lives, but they have a strange connection and seem to experience each other’s lives through their dreams.

The characters were fantastic and believable. The story was interesting, and even though I usually find stories that don’t have a continuous flow difficult to keep up with, this one was well put together and I didn’t mind the time jumps and the different perspectives. The intricate story was woven together really well and kept me on the edge of my seat. Especially towards the end- I actually got chills while reading and I found myself rooting for one of the characters. The twist at the end (I won’t say what) made the whole book make perfect sense, and the ending was perfect and very satisfying.

I would recommend this book to anyone- it has everything! Romance, action, spy drama and a killer storyline that will keep you on the edge of your seat to find out what happens next.
Looking forward to reading more by this talented author.

Amazon Customer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 September 2021

Jennifer and Lucy live in different countries, have never met and live completely different lives. One day they both are involved in severe accidents and ever since they’ve been able to see each other’s lives through their own dreams each night. Why are they dreaming each other’s lives? Is it even real and more importantly….what will happen when one of them stops dreaming?

I was drawn to this book immediately because of the cover. I found it so haunting and then I read the blurb and it sounded so intriguing that I just had to give this one a read and I’m so glad I did! The premise sets you up for a very interesting plot and I found myself totally drawn into these women’s lives. You get to learn about their relationships and careers, but through the eyes of a stranger through their dreams. I thought I’d find myself a bit confused but I didn’t because each chapter is clearly labelled about whose dream you are reading about. There were a few parts that I found a bit repetitive, but overall I really enjoyed the story and thought the dialogue was really fluid and believable too.

The concept of this book is pretty mind blowing. I love all things mysterious and unexplained phenomenon’s. I enjoyed the romantic relationship between Jennifer and Ilan. His job was pretty interesting!

The ending broke my heart a little bit and I was left wanting more! I wouldn’t even say it’s a negative, but there is a sequel so I’m definitely going to be reading that soon.

Bookworm

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 April 2021

It takes a particularly special writer to turn the mundane into an enticing mystery.

Following the lives of two very different women doesn’t seem like the sort of book that would grip me and keep me turning those pages, but Sheridan’s writing is so immersive and the plot is woven in such a way that kept me guessing.

On the surface this book appears to be exploring the nature of dreams (a topic I myself find fascinating), but it is so much more than that. This story is about the threads that bind us together and what it means to share connections with those around us.

Sheridan’s writing suggets many possibilities and reasons for these connections and dreams and yet up until the end I still wasn’t able to perceive which it was and even then I wasn’t 100% sure 😂

I loved the attention to details and descriptions, they really helped to flesh out the worlds on the page, which not only engaged me as a reader but also gave me the feeling that everything was real and I could never quite pin point if anything was imaginary.

Sheridan also displays a talent for writing romantic scenes and has conjured up a male lead who gives James Bond and Mr Darcy a run for their money.

The mounting tension between the main female characters was well done. Often women can be portrayed as placid and card carrying members of the sorority, these women are far more naturally written and their heated interactions show that.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and will definitely read the continuing installment.

VeronicaShaw

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 December 2021

I read this for pure relaxation. Great downtime reading an eye-opening topic for anyone. Absolutely beautiful Love stories with an element of sadness.
So easy to read I couldn’t put it down. Not only is this one of my feel-good genres it opens up a new world of dreams one I’ve never researched before. A wonderfully written and researched story.
Easy to read with an element of intrigue, lovely sexual scenes with just the right level of erotica to draw you into their romantic world. A lot of wine drinking as well. Mmm. Very relatable.
All four major characters are very different, beautifully balanced, and unique to each other. I absolutely enjoyed every word. I can’t wait to read the next one.
Well done, Amanda, you really nailed it!
A five-star review is justified for tremendous creativity in making this a wonderfully enjoyable story.
Well, Done.
Veronica Shaw
David P. Kessler

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 March 2020

This book manages to be several things at the same time. At one level, it is a romance involving two couples (one somewhat ordinary, the other rather exotic). At another level it is a psychological thriller and mystery. While at a third, it is a kind of morality drama, touching on ethical questions.

As to the last, it is by no means didactic. The author doesn’t give us any easy answers. She only poses the question. And like with the proverbial conundrum of the driver facing a choice between hitting the blind man crossing the road or swerving and hitting the woman at the bus stop – this dilemma too has no easy answers.

As the blurb says, the two women are dreaming of each other’s lives. But there is more to it than this. Because these “synchronized dreams” only start after both have suffered head injuries – one after she has stepped into a rabbit hole while walking her dog and admiring the scenery on a photography outing, the other after a car chase involving Russian spies. But I will say no more on that front.

The romantic angle is the lives of these two women and their men: one rustic and rural, the other living a somewhat hedonistic life as a British ex-pat in Cyprus where she meets a dashing Israeli. And dashing is the operative word, as he always appears to be dashing off somewhere. (But again, no spoilers.)

The author’s great skill is in the subtle nuances and little touches, that bring these characters to life as all too human. Like in this passage:
————-
‘Okay, yes, I was dreaming,’ she admitted.
‘About me, I hope,’ he smiled as his hand found its way to her breast.
‘No Ilan, it wasn’t about you,’ Jennifer frowned and pulled away slightly. ‘Do you want to hear something really weird?’
‘Now you have me intrigued. Tell me.’
She sat up in bed and adjusted the pillow propped up behind her back. ‘It was strange. I dreamt that I was giving birth.’
Surprised, Ilan tilted his head back in a questioning look. ‘Do you want children? You have always said you didn’t. Have you changed your mind?’
‘What? God, no! I don’t want kids. Ever!’ Especially not after that!
‘So, this was merely a dream?’
————–
It’s exchanges like that, progressive upping the ante in the storyline, that make this such a captivating read.

But the best part of the reading experience is that although there is a clear payoff and a firm and final ending, there is a haunting after-taste and a sense that the closure is not quite complete. Do I sense a sequel on the horizon? I certainly hope so.

Romance Reader

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 April 2022

The plot in Rapid Eye Movement is tight and involved, it flows so well.
After a critical injury Jennifer suffers a head wound – at the same time Lucy – in another country, lapses into a coma.
Jennifer and Lucy become the Central characters in this hard to define fiction – part thriller, part mystery, part romance, also psychological and paranormal.
It truly kept me turning the pages. The author is skilled at switching between voices and keeping the reader engaged.
A recommended read
Mr T. A. Grealy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 May 2022

I got a recommendation for this book from Laura Lyndhurst’s Best British Editors Facebook page. Whilst I’d never heard of Amanda Sheridan, I certainly wasn’t disappointed! As a recently retired psychotherapist I was intrigued by the parallel process going on in the minds of two women in different parts of the world, united through their dreams.
The book is certainly riveting, haunting, a real page turner with a totally unexpected ending.
Well worth reading.
Sam Thompson

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 July 2021

I really enjoyed Rapid Eye Movement. Amanda Sheridan challenges the what if’s of dreaming. Jeniffer and Lucy do not know each other, one lives in England the other in Cyprus, Yet following an accident they start dreaming of each other’s lives in their respective countries. The author has a very skilled hand as she makes the storyline of Jennifer fast and sometimes aggressive, when the storyline changes to Lucy you can feel a more serene softer style of writing. the tension builds throughout the book until reaching a great ending. Fully recommended.
James Matthew Wood

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 April 2022

This is a paranormal thriller with a touch of romance.
The story acquaints the reader with two women, Lucy Wilson, and Jennifer Scott, each living their own separate lives in different countries. Fate intervenes where simultaneously both women suffer a dreadful accident. Afterwards an unexplained phenomenon developed between the women. Every night they live the life of the other, caught in perpetual REM sleep.
The dreams are vivid and so realistic that both women doubt what’s real and what’s fantasy.
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, especially the latter half, when the women became aware of each other and realised the danger of their predicament.
The concept kept me enthralled, hurrying to read on to see what happened next. The characters were well-crafted, though for me, one couple had a more likeable nature than the other.
Author, Amanda Sheridan drafts an unusual story, beautifully written with a gob-smacking climax to the book.
Karen Inkle

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2021

I loved this unique story of 2 women whos dreams are so real and connect them in ways than they would ever imagine. The author has taken this every day event experienced by us all and turned it into a intriguing and beautifully written story that keeps your attention from the start. A brilliant idea that definitely keeps you awake till silly o’clock as you want to know how the story pans out and all fits together. Great read, highly recommended.
Jaybird

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 February 2021

This is a well written book which tells
the story of two women’s lives. Lucy lives in the Yorkshire dales and Jennifer is in Cyprus. The two women are linked whilst they are asleep.
This story is nicely written – I loved the attention to detail as the plot progresses through each respective characters life. They both fall in love with the man of their dreams.I have already bought the sequel which I look forward to reading.
MrsB

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 November 2021

From the second I started reading Rapid Eye Movement I was drawn in and didn’t want to put it down. I found this to be such a unique storyline that I couldn’t second guess what was to come. The descriptive style of writing made me feel like I knew the characters and I loved them dearly. It really was a page turner. Fantastic!
eb84

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 January 2021

Rapid eye movement by Amanda Sheridan is not my usual type of reading material. But apart from the strong language I have thoroughly enjoyed this book from the start to the finish, it kept my attention right the way through. So much so that I have purchased now the second book. Hopefully it will be as intriguing as this one.
S P Dawes

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 September 2021

This is an outstanding masterpiece of story telling with an innovative concept and a thought provoking theory. I couldn’t read this book quick enough. It was beautifully written and so enticing. Brilliantly put together.
christina

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 May 2021

What an absolutely fascinating read! When Lucy and Jennifer’s worlds collide during their sleep, the reader is left questioning the power of dreams in real life. Will either of these women escape from living the other one’s life? Do they actually want to escape at all or will they choose to continue living a double life? I am extremely hoping for a sequel to find out even more after concluding this brilliant afternoon read.
customer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 May 2021

This book is cleverly written to pull all of my attention to not put this book down, it is well written, and well worth reading, it is unique and different.
Masha Novak

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 May 2022

Very interesting premise and well executed!
Joni Martins

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 April 2022

Book Review

Basic Details:
Book Title: Rapid Eye Movement
Subtitle:
Author: Amanda Sheridan
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Part of a series? Yes
Order in series: 1
Best read after earlier books in series?

Overall score:
I scored this book 5/5
⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️
Short Summary of the book:
Two women dream each other’s life. While one lives in sunny Cyprus, the other lives in rainy Yorkshire, but at night they dream what happens in the other person’s life. Will they ever meet and why is this happening?
What I liked about the book:
It was action-packed and full of unexpected twists and turns.
What I didn’t like about the book:
There was nothing to dislike.
My favourite bits in the book:
The loving scenes for both couples.
My least favourite bits in the book:
The way it had to end.
Any further books in the series? Any more planned by this author?
This is the first book I’ve read by this author, and I’ve just downloaded the second one as I can’t wait to find out what happens next.
What books could this be compared to and why?
This is a contemporary fiction novel with a hint of the paranormal and some spy novel elements.
Recommendation:
In summary, I would recommend this book to the following readers:

Children No
Young Adult Possibly
Adult Yes

If you like romance, spy novels and contemporary fiction, this book may be the book for you.

Darla Hogan

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 April 2021

I was intrigued how the story in this book would develop after the first two chapters. My first comment will centre on the quality of descriptive prose. The detailed descriptions cleverly depicted the lives and personalities of the two women, but did not detract from the unfolding drama of their increasingly bizarre lucid dreams. The character development is fabulous, I felt I knew these women personally.
My second area of comment is on the storyline. The author expertly weaves back-and-forth through situation, time and circumstance in such a way, you are drawn in deeper to the enigmas of their dreams.
Lastly, I want to comment on the area of suspense without giving anything away. I became totally sucked in during the last few chapters. The way Amanda Sheridan crafts her writing towards the final outcome made me fully engage with the extreme tension between the two main protagonists.
I will not comment on the final moving scene, as I would give away to much about the ending.
I highly recommend this book and believe a wide range of readers will enjoy this clever and brilliant story.
Lauren

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 January 2021

I didn’t know what to expect with this book so I went in totally open but I was left blown away.

Jennifer has a car accident in Cyprus and is placed in a medically induced coma. Lucy is a young woman in England, also suffers an accident a few hours later and also ends up in a coma. They manage to switch consciousnesses and dream that they are living out each others lives. Every aspect of their lives is felt by the other. An amazing twisting story that will keep you turning page after page.

Firstly, I love that this book predominantly centres around two female characters! I found that the story Sheridan wove was so nicely interlinked that I appreciated how much thought went into each word.

Very clever writing to bring two people together in the way that she did. It is absolutely worth a read and I wish I could give it more stars. The description is on point and it’s incredibly captivating. I was rushing to read as quickly as I could which is rare for me!

Great job!

Aramat

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 March 2020

I read this book in two sittings. The beginning is somewhat faster-paced than the book as a whole – hardly surprising when you consider that the book opens with a car chase between a Mossad officer and some angry Russians. But that doesn’t mean the rest of the book is slow. By no means. The rest of the book is rather what I would call steady and winding. Just when you think everything is becoming clear, it twists this way or that, making you wonder where it is going to end up.

The bulk of the story follows the lives of two women who have little in common – the linchpin being the situation of danger in which they both now find themselves. Well, actually, they do have one other thing in common: a love of wine. This mutual bond might be the cause of the strange phenomenon in which they find themselves dreaming about each other’s lives. Because aside from that, they are as different as chalk and cheese.

By the time you get to the end, the book answers most, if not all of the questions the reader might be asking. Some things are left to the imagination. But this is good in a way, because it elevates the book above most genre fiction.

I wasn’t entirely “happy” with the way the story ends. I would say “satisfied” but that’s not exactly the same. Then again, given the nature of the conflict (and no, I don’t approve of spoilers) it would have been hard to write an ending that pleases everyone. But at least it ended on an optimistic, upbeat note. More than that, you couldn’t ask. You’ll know what I mean when you read it. And it was a good read!

P & k

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 February 2021

This book is quite fantastic, I was expecting just a romantic book about two women a life’s, with a bit of mystery thrown in. But it is so much more, we follow Jennifer and Lucy’s life’s who are after a accident start dreaming about each other. They try and start wondering why? And that’s when the thrilling aspect comes into it. I really liked the cover, and the story is so captivating. Highly recommended
Cathy Mayes

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 February 2022

Wow, do not start this book unless you have plenty f time to read, you will not want to put it down! How the writer kept hold of this story in her head I do not know. Parallel people with parallel lives, quite amazing and innovative. Beautifully written and fast moving, sometimes hard to keep up as the reader. I will say no know for fear of being a ‘spoiler’. Buy it, read it and enjoy!
RJ

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 September 2020

First of all, what a cover. I really like it. But more importantly, as you can see from my star rating, the insides are just as good. Super idea for a story and the author superbly connects the two separate people, two separate places through an excllent plot, clever writing and beautiful description throughout.
Who’s dreaming about me I wonder???
Nat S

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 March 2022

This is a really beautiful book. The story of the two women, and their partners, is extremely cleverly written, weaving in and out through their timelines- in a way that makes perfect sense, and draws the story to a conclusion with a slight final twist. Honestly this is a perfect book, and really looking forward to it’s sequel sitting beside me!
Jane

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 November 2020

Rapid Eye Movement was a captivating read right from the opening pages, and I was pleasantly surprised. The story was flawless, intriguing and kept my attention for the duration with its layers, twists, and turns. I especially loved the interplay between the characters as it made them feel like real people, thus adding to their credibility. Definitely worth it!
Onia Fox

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 September 2020

REM is an epic read with a huge plot. I dare not say too much for fear of spoilers, other than READ IT!
There is moments of love (plutonic and physical), sisterhood and self preservation. There are light moments and dark moments.
On one occasion I was sat on the beach in the hot sun, but covered in goosebumps!
Oh, and did I say – READ IT!
Scenes are perfectly set and detail lovingly researched.
One last thing – READ IT!
onia.fox@btinternet.com
Elinor Conn

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 September 2021

This is such a refreshingly unique novel. It draws you in from the start and you can’t predict the direction it goes. The writing flows effortlessly. I’m looking forward to more from Amanda Sheridan and the best thing is, I’ve met her at our local market.
Amazon Customer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 October 2021

This is an unusual and intriguing book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are interesting and the idea behind the story is unlike anything I have read before. The book is well written and it held my attention from beginning to end. I was also drawn to the lovely cover.
Navyguyk1

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 February 2021

This is a story of levels. It about two women’s lives. Lucy from Yorkshire and Jennifer from Cyprus who are linked together by the subconscious via comas caused by accidents. They have interlinked lives because of it. It has twists and turns. A cool concept for a book.
Enjoyed it
CP

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 December 2020

Rapid Eye Movement is a wonderfully original story that draws you in and doesn’t let go. Author Amanda Sheridan has crafted a very clever story, and her skilful writing brings it to life. This book has something for everyone, suspense, thrills and romance. Highly recommend.
Belinda Wells

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 September 2020

Reading this book was like watching a film that goes backwards and forwards in time, it was compelling to find out what would happen next. I was relieved to know that my guess of the ending was wrong, I really detest predictable endings. The descriptions of the lives of the two women involved was rich, colourful and very visual, I could imagine this made into a movie. I’m really looking forward to the sequel!
Natasha

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 January 2021

This is the first book that I have actually finished in a while and looked forward to reading! The story draws you in from the beginning and by the end, I felt like I really knew the 2 women on a personal level.

Amanda’s descriptive abilities are amazing and the plot was so different to anything I had ever read. I couldn’t put it down!
I felt I was getting a romance, a thriller and a life lesson all in one book.

I cannot wait to begin the sequel!

aoife26clothes

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2020

I read this in a day. I thoroughly enjoyed it. If this is the authors 1st novel then they have set themself a very high standard to keep up for their future novels. I am still thinking about it today…Highly recommended.
Scottish reviewer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 August 2020

Entertaining and enthralling drama that grips throughout. Absorbing plot with intriguing characters. I will be buying this. An ideal present for all.
Aoife McCullough

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 November 2021

Thrilling book that keeps you on your toes until the very end! Jennifer and Lucy are so different yet connected through such a unique and exciting journey! A must read 10/10
Carolyn W.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 May 2022

An absorbing, highly original, intriguing story about two strangers living each others lives in their dreams. Exciting! Educational! Gripping!
A remarkable book written by an immensely talented, intellectual author.
Amazing!!
KerriMcGeever

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 July 2021

This was a real page turner loved every minute of this read read the second book The Dreaming also a page turner. Waiting hard on book 3.Hopefully soon.
Roxana S

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 October 2021

I had a great time reading this book. It’s well-written, and it’s a fun trip alongside the characters.
The plot centres around Lucy and Jennifer, two major protagonists who have completely different lives but end up crossing paths after they both suffer accidents. The kicker is that they dream about each other and act out each other’s lives. They shared a peculiar connection because of the brain trauma they both endured. They gradually become aware of their predicament and the perilous nature of their shared existence. Despite their differences, Lucy and Jennifer became inextricably linked and soon knew even the most private details of one other’s lives.The characters are ambiguous and complex, and their development is crucial to the plot of the book. The author’s writing style is so distinct that it caused me to visualise some of the images in this book right before my eyes. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is fascinated by these types of components!
Lucas W. Mayberry

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 February 2022

This was one of the those rare books that I couldn’t help think about when I wasn’t reading it. The story is about two women in totally different countries dreaming each other’s lives. I don’t want to give anything away but the ending came as a bit of a shock and I honestly didn’t see it coming. It blew me away. And there was one more little twist in the epilogue as well. The book was very well written and well paced. It was a real page turner. What i liked was as well as the exciting aspects of the book the author could write about the mundane parts of everybody experiences in their life and not make it boring. I definitely recommend this book.
SJM

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2021

I had my eye on this book for a while and it sure full filled its promise! This was a super intriguing, suspenseful, and original read, with some great romance thrown in too! The plot is well thought out and keeps you completely engaged throughout the book. The story is about two women who are inextricably linked, but don’t know it themselves or how it is even possible. Is it real? Is it a figment of their imagination? The author keeps the reader guessing and you find out, at the same time as Jennifer and Lucy do. I will definitely read the second book in this series and can’t wait to see how it develops. Highly recommended.
Kindle Customer Paula

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 November 2020

Jennifer is living the dream. She’s relocated to Cyprus, one of her favourite places in the world, set up a design business which is thriving, and met the man of her dreams in Ilan, an Israeli businessman of movie-star good looks who’s equally smitten with Jennifer. The only niggle on the edge of this dream is that Ilan is somewhat evasive about what exactly his business consists of. There are those who take exception to it, though, and when Jennifer and Ilan are forced to flee from them, the resulting car accident and knock on the head put Jennifer in hospital.

Meanwhile, in Yorkshire, England, Lucy is living her own dream, finding the exact right property in the perfect location to renovate with builder husband Charlie. And then, when she should be sleeping peacefully at night, she starts having disturbing dreams about herself, living an entirely different life, having a no-holds barred physical relationship with a man of movie-star good looks. This happens at the same time that Jennifer, discharged from hospital, starts having disturbing dreams about herself living an entirely different life, having a no-holds barred physical relationship with another man.

Nightmare time. Just what is going on with Jennifer and Lucy?

I don’t know if anything like this has been written before, but it not then Amanda Sheridan has come up with a very interesting and novel concept indeed. It was well-written and maintained my interest right the way through, even though I hated how it ended. I can’t say any more on that without giving anything away, so I’ll have to live with it and let other readers find out for themselves. The characters and their situations were well-drawn, I engaged with them and which is why I guess didn’t like the ending. There’s a sequel to come, I gather, and I’ll be there to read it. I can’t think of any reason for not giving this five stars, so that’s it. Five stars and a strong recommendation.

Amazon Reader
4.0 out of 5 stars An enigmatic tale

Reviewed in India on 20 January 2022

The writer wove a mesmerizing plot through two different people and their lives. Her eye for detail is noteworthy. A psychological thriller which will keep you gripped until the end.
Jessica
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent

Reviewed in Canada on 18 February 2021

This was an excellent read. Really had me thinking and wondering. I couldn’t put it down and read until the early hours of the morning just to get to the amazing and heartbreaking ending. A wonderful story
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars rapid eye movement

Reviewed in Canada on 22 June 2020

i bought this book as suggested by a friend who knows the author. i love it…had me hooked from the get go….i recommend it highly …great way to spend a few hours……personally…i loved it!
Cathy Brooks
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read

Reviewed in the United States on 11 April 2022

Two women dream each other’s lives. You find out about Jennifer when Lucy is dreaming and learn about Lucy, when Jennifer is dreaming about her. Lucy is renovating an old farm house and Jennifer is running away from someone, but we don’t know who. The book takes us back to their youths and how they met their husbands.
The dialogue is realistic and the story is unique. Each woman becomes increasingly aware that they are living another woman’s life but both keep their dreams a secret.
I enjoyed the renovations and decorating each woman did in their homes. I felt connected to each home and understood why they loved them.
The danger that Jennifer and her husband, Iian experience adds another dimension to the story. Jennifer doesn’t exactly know what her husband is involved in and that element of intrigue is tense.
The story moved along nicely and was an enjoyable read.
jdgriffith78
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story!

Reviewed in the United States on 1 April 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this one! The story revolves around Lucy and Jennifer, two women with totally separate lives from each other, and up crossing paths as they both have accidents and are hospitalized. Here’s the kicker, they live out each others life in their dreams. The brain trauma that they both had created a strange connection to each other. Slowly, they begin to realize their plight and the deadly nature of their shared existence. I know for a fact that brain trauma can lead to some bazaar dreams and can alter one’s perception of reality, so I can easily see this happening. A great story that you will love and it will keep you turning the pages just to see how it plays out! I highly recommend this one!
Luce Wood
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and Intriguing

Reviewed in the United States on 21 February 2021

Rapid Eye Movement
A fantastic read. What would it be like to see the daily life of a stranger? Millions of people around the world do this every day when we turn on our tv’s to watch the never-ending array of reality-tv shows. But, how about watching someone’s life unfold each night as you dream? What about feeling their emotions, their highs and their lows? This book takes you into the minds of 2 women who lead very different lives but are connected each night as they sleep. What starts as a fun an interesting glimpse into someone else’s life turns into an intense fight for survival. Very well written and keeps the reader anxiously turning the pages to see what happens next.
crystal
5.0 out of 5 stars quite an eerie novel! Just loved it!

Reviewed in the United States on 3 September 2020

Two women living completely different lives after suffering from head injuries begin to dream about eachother’s lives so they are somehow entertwined through sleep. One wonders right away how the dreams are synchronized! This is a very complex read but well worth the time as it is meant to be full of complexity, suspense, mystery, and surprising elements. There is even romance which is a nice addition to this paranormal psychological thriller. This novel takes me back to the famous movie “Inception” with Loenardo Dicaprio. Even though very uniquie and completely different plots, I had the same amount of excitement, interest and entertainment as I read about the dream phases. Well written and had a great ending. I would love to see a sequel?!
Pavla
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertwined Lives–Intriguing and Well-Written

Reviewed in the United States on 14 May 2021

Imagine closing your eyes and dreaming about another person, and the dream being as vivid as reality. Then imagine experiencing this again and again and again, finally realizing more is going on, and your life is intertwined with that other individual’s life.

This is exactly what happens to Jennifer and Lucy in Amanda Sheridan’s book, Rapid Eye Movement. Day-to-day people and activities are interwoven with romance, intrigue, suspense, and many other things. This story is well-written, and I’m sure readers will be just as intrigued as I was, wanting more and more.

Donna M. Lynch
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!

Reviewed in the United States on 15 September 2020

Honestly, the title didn’t excite me. However, I was quickly drawn into the lives of the two main characters, Lucy and Jennifer. Even though the two women were complete strangers and existed far away from each other, each night Lucy and Jennifer, while they dreamed, viewed each other’s day with all six senses, including the sense of the passage of time.
There’s no limit to what the brain is capable of and that was shown after the head injuries Lucy and Jennifer had sustained from an accident. How powerful is our subconscious mind?
In spite of the women’s differences, Lucy and Jennifer were woven together and were soon secretly knowing even the most intimate moments of the other one’s life. I felt like I was there with them!
It was brilliant how the author interlaced these two women through their dreams.
The suspense, along with a surprising twist, will captivate you and keep you turning the pages!
Bravo Amanda Sheridan!
Peter Servidio
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great and Entertaining Read

Reviewed in the United States on 1 June 2022

I had not read anything by Sheridan before picking up Rapid Eye Movement. I am glad I did. The novel has elements of a thriller, intertwined with some mystery.

The characters are well written with depth, and the story line holds your attention throughout!

Pamdiana Jones
5.0 out of 5 stars Exotic destinations in this wild, mysterious adventure!

Reviewed in the United States on 29 October 2021

I just loved this story of two women mysteriously dreaming each others lives… I felt that reactions were real and raw as they try to figure this out over the years. I absolutely adored this writer’s style, placing the cup of coffee in my hand while I stretched out on the lounger in the Cypress sunshine…I’ll miss Jess and Lucy, I’m definitely looking forward to purchasing the next book!
rt3
5.0 out of 5 stars A story straight outta Black Mirror or the Twilight Zone.

Reviewed in the United States on 11 March 2021

Everything seems “normal”, but it’s not. Clues along the way make you think, keeping you guessing and turning pages. The characters grow on you like new friends. Five chapters from the end, I couldn’t put it down until finished. Excellent debut novel. Looking forward to more from this author.

Website

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/latest-news/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/books-by-katherine-black/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/what-you-get-for-your-money/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/book-formatting-and-typeset/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/book-cover-design/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/illustrations/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/marketing-and-promotion/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/author-publisher-logo-design/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/book-trailers-promo-videos/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/author-interviews/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/shop/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/request-a-quote/

Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/Best-Book-Editors-102025145430197/

Facebook Group

https://www.facebook.com/groups/625104781821119/?notif_id=1635265103733738&notif_t=groups_member_joined&ref=notif

LinkedIn Group

https://www.linkedin.com/groups/12659537/

Email

katherine@bestbookeditors.com