Amazon Reviews Amanda Sheridan Full List of Reviews up to 23rd June 2022


The Dreaming Buy Here 

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08MB3Z785
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1331 KB
  • Simultaneous device usage ‏ : ‎ Unlimited
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 318 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ B08M87RYPQ

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Amanda Sheridan

Amanda Sheridan lives with her husband and their two rough collies in Northern Ireland and Scotland. She is retired and only took up writing recently.

All Reviews

Christina Clarry

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 June 2022

This is the best book I have read in a long time! As a sequel to Rapid Eye Movement by Amanda Sheridan it can be read as a stand alone book. But this was so enthralling, I will read all this author’s books now.
I was skeptical about the theme of lucid dreaming, but it has been used brilliantly. The main protagonist, Jennifer Ben-Levi, has the ability to interact with her dream characters and environment. This ability is exploited by Mossad in their efforts to find a dangerous terrorist cell based in Syria after they lose contact with Jennifer’s husband, Ilan, who has penetrated the cell in the guise of a jihadist.
Amanda Sheridan’s characters are down to earth, and strong dialogue as well as wit flows easily. She writes well. There is slight repetition in places, but this doesn’t detract from the storyline.
The book cover is extremely clever. The door is used as a gateway into Jennifer’s lucid dreams and this door opens into a desert village. In this village a laboratory is preparing bioengineered variants of the pneumonic plague which are antibiotic resistant to be released in Europe and America via infected jihadists mingling with the unsuspecting populations.
It is a gripping read and would make a compelling film. A rare find. Highly recommended.

Tracey Gerrard

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 May 2022

An amazing sequel!
I thoroughly enjoyed Rapid Eye Movement and was looking forward to reading The Dreaming.
It didn’t disappoint.
Three years on from the accident in Cyprus, Jennifer and Ilan are living in Tele Aviv. Jennifer is loving working at the rescue centre while Ilan has gone undercover on one last mission to infiltrate a terrorist group in Syria.
Jennifer is becoming anxious due to not hearing from him for quite some time and when two Mozzad agents come knocking at her door, needing her help as they have lost all contact with her husband, things get interesting.
This story is an absolute belter. Amanda Sheridan has certainly done her research in so many areas as she incorporates realistic world issues along with Jennifer’s incredible ability to control her dreams.
The Dreaming definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat as you’re catapulted into a world of espionage, terrorism and danger along with the suspense of running out of time.
A carefully, well thought out, descriptive story. You really feel the emotions of the characters and believe the storyline.
I was gripped from the start and looking forward to a third book in this series. Highly Recommended!
Bookworm

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 October 2021

At a certain point the pages flew by as I couldn’t wait to read on.

The story was gripping. A very poignant plot which blends real world issues of terrorism, fanaticism and a pandemic with the psychological and “supernatural” element of lucid dreaming.

Sheridan skillfully recapped the events of book one by having the MC Jennifer be approached by Mossad agents in an attempt to help her MIA husband Illan. The switch between events that occur in a wakened state and those in the dream world is always seemless and at no point did I feel confused. However the intentional seeds of confusion and doubt within the plot were intriguing and their reveal was gradual and teasing which added to my eagerness in reading.

There were times that I felt there was too much description in regards to the mundane. For instance, details about how Jennifer makes her breakfast or discussions about e-cigerettes. However I appreciate how these every day sections contrast with the traumatic circumstances of the terrorist plot. The description of a prisoner was particularly harrowing.

This sequel built upon the events of the first book whilst being an entirely different type of story. To go from a book which appeared to be of the psychological/paranormal genre to a political thriller is a testament to Sheridan’s breadth as a writer. I can not wait to see what the third installment offers.

Lucas W. Mayberry

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 March 2022

After the events from Rapid Eye Movement, Jennifer is now living in Israel with her husband Ilan. She has recovered from her ordeal in the first novel but Ilan has been missing for 8 months and she’s getting worried. Then when Mossad call her in to ask her to perform something that has never been done before it’s starts a race against the clock to find Ilan before a devastating terrorist attack wipes out most of the world’s population. Just like the first novel this deals with dreaming and how you can control it. It steps it up a gear when it’s realised that Jennifer is capable of so much more. It’s scary to think though that some aspect of the story is very relevant to what’s happening in the world today. Especially the plan the terrorists have. Just like the first book I really loved the sequel and I definitely recommend it.
Jacqui Jay Grafton

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 August 2021

The Dreaming continues the story of Jennifer and Ilan, who are now living in Israel. When Ilan disappears off the radar while penetrating a terrorist cell in Syria, the lack of communication threatens to compromise the entire mission. It is imperative that Ilan is found and the Israeli Government turns to Jennifer and her unique talent of lucid dreaming and remote viewing in a last ditch effort to find him.
Overcoming her reluctance to deal with Mossad, Jennifer agrees to cooperate, knowing that there is no guarantee she will be successful, as her dreams are organically controlled and can not be summoned at will. There is also the added complication that she might witnesses events she’d rather not know about.
In parts, this novel is frighteningly realistic and I’m in awe of the sheer amount of research that has been undertaken. It’ s a measure of Sheridan’s talent that she is never heavy-handed in feeding in technical data or medical facts but keeps the narrative flowing smoothly and seamlessly.
She raises moral conundrums and throws in twists at a dizzying pace, holding the readers attention effortlessly.
Sheridan has really raised her game with this sequel to Rapid Eye Movement and I can’t wait to see where she takes us with Dreamcatcher, the third in the series, due for publication next year.
Lauren

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 February 2021

I read Sheridan’s first book Rapid Eye movement and loved it so was thrilled to read the second installment.
We move to Jennifer’s life three years after her accident.
She is now living in Israel and Ilan has been on a mission for seven months. I do not want to spoil anything here but let’s say, Jennifer’s particular skill set of Lucid dreaming, and remote viewing really come into play. Taking on a role with the Mossad is the last thing she wanted to do, but she had to try and find her beloved Ilan.

I love Sheridan’s style of writing, and it was just as gripping as the first. The way she manages to keep you guessing until the last page had me fighting sleep to try and plough through. She has a witty style in some instances, which compliments Jennifer’s character well and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. I am generally someone who can predict what is coming but this one had me all tangled up and second guessing everything.
The story itself is unique and original and I cannot express just how engrossed I was. Will she find Ilan?

Can she make sense of her dreams enough to save him? You will have to read it and find out, trust me you will not be disappointed!

Sam Thompson

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 July 2021

I read and enjoyed Rapid eye movement. I equally enjoyed The Dreaming. Amanda Sheridan has a really good writing style and I found myself getting absorbed in the book. Jennifer from Rapid eye movement has now moved on in her life by three years and living in Israel and as in the first book, Jennifer’s ability to dream of things that are live and active are used by the Israeli government to help them with a whisper of a happening in Syria. The book has many twists and turns that make you feel you know where it’s going then something opposite happens. The tension builds at the right stages and the ending is only known on the final page, Recommended read.
Karen Inkle

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 December 2021

Jennifer’s husband, Ilan, is missing in action and she was asked to join the civil service to help bring him home. Her job though was extremely unusual and top secret.
A fantastic sequel that didn’t fall short in any aspect but to be honest this story could go on and on, and hope it does! Really well written this talented author knows how to keep you on the edge, with twists, turns and unexpected suprises. A strong, resilient, female character who knows her worth and is not afraid to stand her ground and negotiate when time is of the essence. Brilliant storyline, thought provoking and utterly believable. Great book and highly recommended but dont forget to read Rapid Eye Movement first!
Onia Fox

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 November 2020

The Dreaming by Amanda Sheridan is an absolutely cracking read. Personally, I suggest reading the prequel first – Rapid Eye Movement – but The Dreaming is nevertheless a completely stand alone novel and with a different and more linear style.
I dare not comment on the plot for risk of spoilers, but I promise you that it is riveting; following a Mossad spy attempting to do the right thing in impossible circumstances.
Crucial to this novel is the supernatural, but wholly believable backdrop to the story. I say believable because I personally, as I am sure has anyone who dreams, have woken with a feeling of dread or a feeling of sudden awareness that, for a moment at least, one is sure could have been controlled or at least influenced, during sleep.
The characters are great and so human – with all the love, lust, fear and nastiness that a Mossad spy may well encounter. And the research is obviously thorough. Perhaps our author should be expecting a knock on the door from men dressed in black.
Read Rapid Eye Movement! Read The Dreaming!
RJ

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 January 2022

This does not disappoint. I’ve read Rapid Eye Movement. If you enjoyed that…..you’ll love this. Effortless reading within a gripping storyline full of pace. I thought the way the writer seamlessly blends and switches between events when the characters are awake / dreaming was so impressive. You won’t want to put this down as the plot teases you and makes you doubt your own attempts at seeking out what is going to happen till the very end.
Cracking read and i would most definitely recommend.
Kindle reader

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 December 2021

I want to give this more than five stars! I thought the first was a brilliant read, but this one blew it out of the water. The story was a thrilling ride from start to finish and it kept me guessing. I really hope there are more- the book looks like it’s left itself open for another sequel. I wouldn’t hesitate to dip back into Jennifer and Ilan’s exciting lives!
Thank you Amanda Sheridan. This was probably one of my favourite reads of the year!
Carol Kravetz

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 January 2021

I read Amanda’s first book and was blown away, not just by her tremendous talent for writing but for the unique and very interesting plot. I awaited with eagerness for her second book and The Dreaming certainly lived up to my expectations. I wondered how Amanda was going to carry on from where her first book left off but she did it with ease and true talent. The second book could, however, be a stand alone story but it would certainly benefit the reader to read the first book too. It wasn’t an easy topic to write about but Amanda has clearly done her homework and it shows in every page. Well done, Amanda! Hope there will be a third one…and a fourth…
334eb

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 March 2021

not my usual type of reading matter, but I read the first book and enjoyed it apart from strong language which seems to be acceptable these days. Jennifer is now living in Israel and Ilan has been away for eight months and all contact has be lost with him. Read the book to see what happens An exellent story
S P Dawes

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 January 2022

This story kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. Its imaginative whilst remaining completely realistic which is incredibly difficult to pull off. The characters are deep and you can’t help but feel for them and at quite a few points my heart was in my throat. Incredible thriller.
Amazon customer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 February 2021

This is the sequel to Amanda’s book, Rapid Eye Movement. It follows on from this as Jennifer’s life takes on a new purpose three years after the events of the first book.

This is for fans of Amanda’s first book. I found her writing style very good, the story flows well. Very well researched and likeable characters.

Recommended.

Cardy1961

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 November 2020

I have been waiting impatiently for this sequel and it didn’t disappoint. A real page turner, I read it in two sittings. The story built beautifully to a nail biting climax. As I read the last page I wanted the next book immediately. I just loved it.
One person found this helpful
Joni Martins

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 April 2022

Book Review

Basic Details:
Book Title: The Dreaming
Subtitle:
Author: Amanda Sheridan
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Part of a series? Yes
Order in series: 2
Best read after earlier books in series? Yes

Overall score:
I scored this book 5/5
⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️
Short Summary of the book:
Jennifer now lives in Tel Aviv with her husband Ilan, her cats and has a job at an animal rescue centre. When Mossad lose contact with Ilan, they call for Jennifer’s help in a desperate plea to rescue the mission. Will she succeed in locating her husband through her dreams, or is the plan, and subsequently Ilan, doomed?
What I liked about the book:
It was action-packed and full of unexpected twists and turns.
What I didn’t like about the book:
There was nothing to dislike.
My favourite bits in the book:
The action and determination.
My least favourite bits in the book:
There were none.
Any further books in the series? Any more planned by this author?
This is the second book I’ve read by this author, and can’t wait to find out what happens next. However, the next book in the series is not yet out, so I’ll have to find some patience.
What books could this be compared to and why?
This is a contemporary fiction novel with a hint of the paranormal and some spy novel elements.
Recommendation:
In summary, I would recommend this book to the following readers:

Children No
Young Adult Possibly
Adult Yes

If you like romance, spy novels and contemporary fiction, this book may be the book for you.

Katherine Black

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2022

This is the sequel to the Brilliant Rapid Eye Movement. That book brought us to a culmination of danger and a situation risking Jennifer’s life, but it doesn’t prepare you for the hard and gritty edge of The Dreaming. It’s tense and thrilling but still wrapped in the softer words of the kind of relationship we all strive for. In this book, we are taken into the world of terrorism and underground organisation. Ilan undertakes a dangerous mission—his last. He promises to come back to her—but radio silence is broken. When it seems she has no way of getting to him, Jennifer has only one option—to go back to her dreams.

The description of the scenes in Syria is breathtaking. I love ‘going abroad’ when I read and discovering other places and cultures. The author’s image-weaving is so realistic that you can feel the sand between your toes.

The characters are believable. On one side, there are people you’d want in your corner—on the other, the worst of humanity that you’d never like to meet.

Rapid Eye Movement was brilliant, but this takes you to the edge in this gripping—yet—poignant thriller.
We have love, loss, desperation and danger—but you’ll have to read it to see if they make it out alive. We’re rooting for them.

Edit
Delete

 

Darla Hogan

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 June 2021

This is the second book of the series but could also be considered a stand alone novel. It continues the story of Jennifer and Ilan, but some months later when Ilan is away on a secret mission.
I don’t like to give away plot spoilers so I will refrain from saying anything more than the Israeli Government involve Jennifer in trying to contact Ilan through her special gift of sharing lucid dreams.
Amanda Sheridan has the gift of writing in incredible detail to take the reader into the mind and settings of her characters. There is considerable descriptive detail that works to enhance the reality of her supernatural powers in such a way, the plot becomes plausible. There is a gradual build up in tension leading to a nail-biting climatic completion of a brilliant novel. I would have loved to have read this book in two or three sittings, but outside events limited my available daily reading time, so I had to read a few chapters at a time. I will definitely read further works by this author.
David P. Kessler

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 November 2020

The Dreaming is a thriller about a British woman married to a Mossad officer who has the power to see real-time events and communicate with others in her dreams. In the first book (Rapid Eye Movement) she was communicating with another woman while they were both in comas after accidents at different locations. In that book they effectively re-lived each other’s lives.

In this book Jennifer (the one married to the Mossad officer), now living in Israel, is called in to help when her husband goes incommunicado while penetrating a terrorist cell in Syria. The Israelis know that something BIG is being planned. That’s why they inserted their man into the field in the first place. But the loss of communiations threatens to compromise the entire mission.

That’s where Jennifer’s rare (possibly unique skill) comes into play. The problem is that such lucid dreams cannot be commanded. They have to play out as nature decrees. And the dreams can also be disturbing… especially when they bring unwanted news. But with lives on the line, the Israelis have no altertaive but to push the envelope.

The skill of the author is not only to keep the reader guessing, but also to maintain credible characterization and maintain the plausibility of the characters through the evolving situation. She sweeps the reader along with the characters in a way that makes the reader care.

One final point: the method the terrorists are proposing to use is, shall we say, more than a little topical. But I will leave you with that teaser.

MrsB

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 May 2022

The Dreaming is the second in the series after Rapid Eye Movement. I recommend reading REM first so that you have a proper appreciation for the main characters, Jennifer and Ilan. I won’t go over the storyline as you can get that from the book blurb, but what I will tell you is that this book is full of suspense. You see both Jennifer’s and Ilan’s POV, although for a while, you are left guessing who Ilan actually is! I love this trope as I think it is unique and I love the characters. I’m looking forward to the 3rd in the series and I hope Ilan features more in it! Well done, Amanda, another great read.
Elinor Conn

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 September 2021

This book differs from any other book I’ve read recently. I could not put it down and read it in two days. I wondered at first if the subject matter at this time was something I wanted to be submerged in (chemical warfare) but the writing is so accomplished, the characters are real and you need to know what happens to them. An absolute page turner.
Amazon Customer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 November 2020

Another spell binding page turner, a very good read. I look forward to your sequel. 😊
Elle Sie

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 February 2022

Wow, having really enjoyed Rapid Eye Movement, I had to know what happened next with Jennifer, who was my favourite character from the first installment. This exceeded my expectations. The last book saw Jennifer and Ilan living in Cyprus and this time, picked up in Israel. It was a slow build up as we learned that Ilan was missing and how Jennifer came to be recruited to find him through her remote sensing abilities. A nice surprise was getting point of view chapters from other characters, which added so much more detail and realism to the story, helping to immerse me in the dangerous settings, particularly Syria – I could go into this much further, but don’t want to give spoilers! Some parts that I enjoyed involved Jennifer getting closure on past events that she needed to revisit, as well as the detailed explanation of how her lucid dreaming and remote sensing abilities worked. I wondered if anything was going to happen with the dog Benji that she was attached to through her work, as a chapter early on seemed to hint at his involvement, though it’s a testament to the complexity of the plot that I was unable to guess which direction the story would go in. Can’t wait for the third installment now, Sheridan is an excellent writer who gives readers an intellectually engaging read that is still page-turning with fully developed, motivated characters.
SJM

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 April 2021

Wow. This was an amazing read! If you want a book to keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish, this is the one. It starts of with an undercurrent of tension and it builds and builds. I couldn’t read fast enough to learn the fate of Ilan and whether Jennifer would be able to help Mossad in their mission. Thrilling, dark and at times gruesome, this was a book I couldn’t put down. Highly recommended!
B W Clayton

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 December 2021

Having enjoyed “Rapid Eye Movement”, the debut novel of Amanda Sheridan I was keen to read the sequel, “The Dreaming”. However, I was curious to know what direction the story could take. The main characters, Jennifer and Ilan have put their life in Cyprus behind them and are settled in Israel, but then Ilan goes undercover to infiltrate a terrorist organisation and all contact with him is lost. Beside herself with worry, Jennifer agrees to work with Mossad to use her dreams to try to locate her husband and the terrorists, and prevent a major disaster which could cause the deaths of thousands of people. I found I was absorbed in the book from the very first page and enjoyed the author’s fluent writing style. Although I enjoyed “Rapid Eye Movement” I think “The Dreaming” is even better, and it leaves the door open for a third book.
Kindle Customer Paula

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 March 2021

Time has moved on since the events of Rapid Eye Movement, with Jennifer and Ilan now happily settled in Israel. Or they were, until Ilan was recalled for active service, where things aren’t going quite as planned and Jennifer is called in to use her particular and special gift to help resolve the situation which has developed. And once she’s done that, for better or worse, the potential for putting her skills to further use in the future becomes clear—and boss Saul Mueller isn’t slow to capitalise on the opportunity presented.

In many ways I preferred this sequel to Rapid Eye Movement, but only because I didn’t like the ending there, which was a personal preference and in no way a criticism of the considerable story-telling skills of author Amanda Sheridan. I have no issues on that score with The Dreaming though. The story moves at a good pace, the tension ramping up near the end. This is a story like no other, in my personal experience. Jennifer’s special skills are a novel concept, and the author should be congratulated on dreaming them up—pun intended.

Whatever, this was a good read, well-paced and characterised. I thoroughly recommend it.

From other countries

Cathy Brooks
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful Read

Reviewed in the United States on 5 May 2022

After reading and thoroughly enjoying Rapid Eye Movement. I was looking forward the this sequel. I enjoyed The Dreaming even more! The book takes the reader on a suspenseful journey. In Rapid eye movement, Jennifer has moved to Israel and three years have passed. Her husband has gone on one last mission and has promised Jennifer this will be his last one. Then she loses contact with him and he’s missing. Jennifer’s special powers of dreaming become useful to the Israeli government and she gets caught up in a wild ride to try to find her husband. Amanda Sheridan takes the reader on a fast paced and gripping journey. Many hair raising moments keep the reader on the edge of their seats. Jennifer’s ability to see things in her dreams helps the story move along in a compelling way. Many twists and turns with many shocking surprises make this book a must read.
Steve Rogan
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating

Reviewed in the United States on 5 November 2021

So, this follow-on certainly went in an unexpected direction, but Amanda Sheridan pulls it off beautifully; she has hinted at a third book, and The Dreaming says there’s no telling where that third book may go.
Avid boozer, Jennifer Ben-Levi, is… well, best read the book and find out!
As with the first book, Rapid Eye Movement, The Dreaming is a well-crafted piece of speculative fiction which doesn’t disappoint.
Again, the characters and the imagery stand up from the page, allowing you be there, much in the way that Jennifer is there in the dreams.
Eagerly awaiting the next one.
Vicky Peplow
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely hooked!

Reviewed in the United States on 9 July 2021

Like it says above I was completely hooked from the beginning and this book definitely doesn’t disappoint. The story of Jennifer and Ilan is such a great story to build around and pleased that Lucy got a cameo appearance in there.
You could definitely tell that Amanda has done her research for this book and the attention to detail is beautiful done. Another great book and can’t wait for the next. Well done!

From other countries

Arlene
5.0 out of 5 stars The sequel is as good as the first

Reviewed in the United States on 23 May 2021

I really enjoyed Rapid Eye Movement, and this sequel did not disappoint. The story was suspenseful and interesting, and held my interest to the end. Well done!

Website

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/latest-news/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/books-by-katherine-black/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/what-you-get-for-your-money/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/book-formatting-and-typeset/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/book-cover-design/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/illustrations/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/marketing-and-promotion/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/author-publisher-logo-design/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/book-trailers-promo-videos/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/author-interviews/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/shop/

https://www.bestbookeditors.com/request-a-quote/

Facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/Best-Book-Editors-102025145430197/

Facebook Group

https://www.facebook.com/groups/625104781821119/?notif_id=1635265103733738&notif_t=groups_member_joined&ref=notif

LinkedIn Group

https://www.linkedin.com/groups/12659537/

Email

katherine@bestbookeditors.com