Best Book Editors

Alice and the Mirror Glass: The Cracklock Saga by C A Deegan

Book Blurb

Book 3 – Alice and the Mirror Glass

Space and time. A recipe for disaster…

A plea for help, long lost family members, and a shadowy organisation hell-bent on stopping a terrible threat they think is the Fae. Jack and his friends are really in trouble this time.

What has Jack’s dad really been up to? It’s got a lot of people pretty angry. And the Cracklocks have got their hands on something they shouldn’t. Something they don’t understand. Something that they should have left well alone. And when Fae glamours don’t work, what can be done to save the day?


Best Book Editors Review


Alice and the Mirror Glass blends fantasy, adventure, magic, fae, imagination and whimsy. The vivid prose takes readers into a world that we’ve come to know but is still refreshingly different with lots of new elements to this book. I love the mirror realm—dark Mr Deegan, dark. There’s only one way back—and you don’t want to know what that is.

All the crew are assembled. ‘Hey Dorcas, sweet girl,’ you can’t write a Cracklock review without a shout-out to everybody’s favourite brownie. Do we finally get David home? Shush, it’s a secret, but we know where he’s been all these years! We meet some new relatives, and I like Alice and her grandad. Their setting and placement were a great choice and gave a different feel to this book—and we have men-in-black baddies after them, Beware the big black Cadillac rolling into view—it always means trouble. Strong tension building. I gelled with Sammy more in this book, too, gotta love a strong mother. Readers are treated to colourful characters and fantastic landscapes, and the clever world-building is magical, immersing readers in a realm where imagination isn’t limited.

I think this is my favourite of the Cracklock saga, so far. It has a more sinister feel to it and the characters are further evolved. Jack’s great. Not everybody makes it to the end of this one—but that’s a secret, too.

About C A Deegan

C A Deegan lives in the East Midlands, right in the centre of the UK, and when he’s not writing or working, he’s with the family or walking the dog in the local woodlands with half an eye out for those ever-elusive Fae. The “Cracklock Saga” series of books came about from reading some pretty awful fairy books to his children over the years . But as he ground his way through these with gritted teeth, he always wondered what would happen if someone didn’t like fairies, what they would do about it, and could anybody stop them? This idea grew, and the Cracklocks were born. And boy, were they scary! Check out all things Cracklock at .

Mrs Helen Buckfield

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 November 2023

Mrs. J

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 October 2023

Lucas W Mayberry

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 December 2022



Facebook  Group: