Reviews for Pedigree Crush with a Twisted Gene by Katherine Black up to 23rd November 2021


From United Kingdom

Kindle Customer Paula

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 November 2021

Time to meet the Woods. Violet, a hard unloving bigot capable of murder and Donald, her colourless husband who lives and dies in the garden and takes on his wife’s prejudiced view of life on the way. How they manage to produce no less than six sons is anybody’s ghastly guess, and author Katherine Black is wise enough not to take us there. The funeral of the first-born son is held early on in the book, but five more sons are born and survive thereafter to become blackmailers, brawlers, bullies, control-freaks and counterfeiters; a thoroughly unpleasant bunch and so toxic that they make the Borgias look like the cosy family next door.

The Woods sail through life bent on getting their own way and make a ton of money besides, and if some people get badly hurt in the process that’s just their own fault for being in the wrong place at the wrong time; including the one son who doesn’t fit, in the family or in society. But then the Woods upset one person too many, and it’s downhill all the way.

This is a slow-burner of a book, making the reader witness to the in-depth evil of the Woods before the fuse speeds up in its journey towards ignition of the time-bomb sitting underneath the Halcyon Woods Hotel and all who inhabit her. Get ready for Armageddon as vengeance is enacted.

Sibyl Mory

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 May 2021

A story full of revenge, dark motives, brutal realism, and sinister incidents centred around Violet Woods and her brood of five boys. With ruthless determination she and her family carve out a business empire. But vengeance comes (no spoilers). Great suspense, full of twists and turns, and a narrative nicely woven together by the author. Recommended.
Michelle Bamber

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 February 2021

Katherine Black tells the wonderful story of a corrupt and cruel family. Her work is a delight to read, flows easily and has many twists and turns. I spent the whole book trying (and failing) to guess the outcome. Binged it in two days. I’d recommend this to fans of James Patterson and Dean Koontz. It’s fast paced and terrific read. Loved it.
One person found this helpful
Lauren

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 January 2021

This is the 2nd book that I have read by this author and once again it did not disappoint. Fantastic revenge type story with twists to keep you hooked. I will admit this one took me a little longer to get through because I was struggling to get into it at the beginning but once I was I really enjoyed it. Thank you for another fantastic read. Now on to the next one.
3 people found this helpful
Amazon Customer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 November 2020

Pedigree Crush with a Twisted Gene. This book is one hell of a ride. You don’t want to be part of the Woods family, that’s for sure. I’ve just found Katherine Black recently and this is the third book of hers that I’ve read so far. Dark, warped, twisted and full of twists…but then in a complete turn around to the thriller style, we read about Simon, what a guy! Black can take you on an all-thrills ride and then write so sensitively, that you care about what happens to these characters. Highly reccomended.
One person found this helpful
Stacie

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 September 2020

Fantastic book, love the author’s style of writing. Very engaging and a good flow.
3 people found this helpful
yvonne

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 July 2016

brilliant page turning book ,cannot wait to read the others from a new fan
One person found this helpful

From other countries